Thanksgiving, 2015

This is my favorite holiday.

Why? Because it requires so little of us.

Thanksgiving asks us to host others or show up and contribute to a beautiful meal. There is no commercial gift exchange required, and for this reason alone, Thanksgiving stands at the top of my list of holidays. I love to cook for those I love, and the preparation of an elaborate meal fuels me. This year, there will be no cable television, but I do plan to extend the meal longer—a three course offering encouraging my guests to linger a bit longer and visit, to leave those dirty dishes, to have another piece of pie, to tell another story, to enjoy the jazz in the kitchen. My daughter has worked out the table decorations and the dishware, and there will be a mix of family and friends sharing my space.

Welcome, day of gratitude. Let me extend the sentiment in unlimited ways.

 

Leave a Reply

