Dusting off the blog…

In September, 2009, I began this blog as an earnest attempt at practicing gratitude in my life. I was feeling buoyant and in love with a desire to share the waves of goodness within which I’d been swimming.

It’s now 2013, and it’s time to polish off the blog for its original purpose. I’m convinced, now more than ever, that consciously practicing gratitude is integral to our happiness. For me, it’s about perspective, and making time to sit down and write about the richness of a single moment or event slows things down for me; it’s like a built-in pause button or finding an empty viewing bench at the Louvre. 

Mothering an almost-nine-year-old is my life work. I consider mothering my greatest ongoing accomplishment.  I don’t always get it right.  I’m imperfect.  But I own my mistakes in my attempts to be a mother who listens, while trying to be present and authentic. There are days I am tired and frustrated, but that goes with the territory. It is the moments of sheer gobsmacking beauty that need to be acknowledged.

This blog is my equivalent of hitting the pause button or slipping onto that bench in front of a piece of precious art. 

Leave a Reply

