The Sentinel

This sharp-shinned hawk spent a good part of Saturday afternoon in my backyard.  I assumed he (she?) was on the lookout for birds at my feeders, all of which were empty.  I thought about filling them, but I didn’t want to rob him/her of the challenge.  Plus, that felt like an unsportsmanlike move against the finches and sparrows that frequent the space. I don’t know if this bird is the same one I’ve spotted previously, but my backyard has become a restaurant of sorts for predators.  This one’s patience eventually wore thin, and he flew off without leaving a pile of down–often the only evidence of a successful meal.

Leave a Reply

