Goodbye, Apocalypse Now…

Film/Lit Class. November 1, 2010. I’m done.

I’ve taught Joseph Conrad’s Heart of Darkness and paired it with Francis Ford Coppola’s Apocalypse Now for the last time.

Francis and Joseph, I love you both. Both works are stellar, really great stuff. But man oh man oh man. Let’s talk DARK. Depressing. Brutal. I don’t know… I guess I am just ready to move into a more jubilant genre, away from war drama.  I made the decision, officially, as I was walking out underneath the canopy of gold foliage, lit by the glow of campus lights.  Beauty replacing darkness.

It’s not that I don’t love Kurtz, Marlowe, Brando and Sheen… It’s just time to give them a hug and a rest.

Hey…I think I see Amelie!

Leave a Reply

